logo

TODDY STYLE – HEADQUARTER
Sidemount-Explorer UG
Glasbergweg 7a
79822 Titisse-Neustadt (DE)
Cell: 0049 – (0)178-9313591
www.toddy-style.com

Equipment: oliver@toddy-style.com
Training: toddy@toddy-style.com

Follow us

Thorsten “Toddy” Wälde

 

Thorsten “Toddy” Wälde, instructor and instructor trainer in technical diving, is the inventor and “mastermind” of the Toddy-Style sidemount system. Already at the age of 22 years he decided to make a professional career in diving. After several years as a diving instructor and operator of diving centers in Offenbach and Freiburg in Breisgau, he turned toward technical Trimix diving, and later in 2001 on to Mexico. Here he lived and worked for several years on the Yucatan peninsula, devoting his time to cave diving, working as a diving guide and instructor, and participating in expeditions, film and research projects in the vast and complex cave systems of the Mexican peninsula.

From 2004, the trail led him back to Europe, with the aim of establishing a dive center and training center specifically for teaching cave diving. In search of a suitable place for this project, he found Sardinia, where there was (and still is) a large number of cave systems underwater and overwater to explore. It also has good infrastructure that allows for quick access to the various locations and dive sites. “Protec Sardinia” in Cala Gonone on the Golfo di Orosei was established in 2005. From guided dives to CCR Cave Instructor Training, all is possible here. In addition to the diving and training operations, there are a range of speleo tours in the dry cave systems of the island. Regular research camps and exploration projects in collaboration with regional speleology groups, to further explore the Sardinian underworld are conducted.

Toddy is actively involved in research and supports regional Sardinian speleo groups in the study of complex systems. In addition, there are several ongoing projects to investigate, measure and map, as well as secure areas and continue to expand the different systems. Current projects: “Utopia” and “Bel Torrente.” His research is not limited to Sardinia. In collaboration with Toddy’s longtime friend and Explorer colleague Robbie Schmittner, who has been living in Mexico for many years and operates Xibalba Dive Center, there is the “Vanilla Sky” project. In this project research is carried out in annual expedition camps in the jungles of Mexico in the local cave systems.

 

Toddy and the Toddy-Style

Since his time in Mexico, Toddy began to work intensively on the sidemount configuration. In the beginning of the 2000s there was hardly any available off-the-rack sidemount systems. It was common in the scene to modify personal equipment depending on the type and desire. The biggest potential Toddy saw at that time was the so-called “sandwich system,” which consisted of 2 backplates (inside and outside), with the wing in the middle. Due to the backplates this construction is extremely stable and flexible, but the former solutions left much to be desired due to the often inadequate compatibility of the components. Toddy has been working to improve this configuration ever since, and his relocation to Sardinia and the associated colder water temperatures necessitated the use of dry suits. This adds another component of the sidemount set-up, which needs to be well thought out in order to achieve a clean and clear hose guide. In addition, it becomes necessary to carry a larger amount of tare weight. Over the course of several years, Toddy therefore optimized “his” sidemount system, so that finally in 2010 a holistic solution proved practical in research as well as in teaching cave-diving courses. This concept then began to spread under the name “Toddy Style.” The trade journal for technical diving “Wetnotes” dedicated a detailed article to the Toddy-Style in 2011. Although this philosophy slowly spread in the world of sidemount diving, the actual equipment used was a compilation of product lines from different manufacturers, some of which had to be combined into a new unit, some of which were misused. Skilled craftsmanship and thorough research were needed to find the most suitable components.

In 2011 Toddy began to work with Oliver Steinle, a craftsmen in metal construction with his own workshop. Through his cave training in Sardinia Oliver came to know and appreciate the Toddy Style system. The two develop individual components in order to have a complete “Toddy Style” kit available. This component collection was offered from 2012 in the online shop “sidemount-explorer.com.” But the full potential of the configuration could not be achieved by adapted components. Still limited shape and volume of the wing and the webbing guide of the harness hindered the maximum possible effect. Thus, the idea arose to develop a complete system from a casting in complete self-direction. “Toddy Style” was registered as a trademark and protected. It was tinkered and stitched, glued and welded, until finally, after many prototypes, the current TS system was created. After extensive testing of the prototypes, the CE certification was acquired, the system presented for the first time at boot 2017 and offered for sale.

 

Toddy and the TS Training Program

The integration of the system with dive training took place in parallel with development as it is a daily part of work of Protec Sardinia. The greatest possible compatibility of the sidemount system with all possible forms of technical diving should be achieved. Tube guidance and bottle setup are particularly important in this context, but basic topics such as gas planning and motion sequences in various maneuvers under water also play an important role. In order to do justice to this holistic approach and to be able to convey the philosophy from the outset to “pure culture,” the idea arose to develop a separate and special TS training program. Through years of successful cooperation with the diving association IANTD the right partner was immediately available to realize this idea. There has been a training program since 2018 in this association, which is dedicated specifically to the TS sidemount configuration.

Sidemount Training das he Conducts:

User level:
TS-OPEN WATER Sidemount Diver
TS-TEK Sidemount Diver

Instructor level:
TS-OPEN WATER Sidemount Diver Instructor
TS-TEK Sidemount Diver Instructor

Direct Contact for Course and Information:

toddy@toddy-style.com

Languages:

German, English, Italian

IANTD Instructor Trainer for:

“NEW” Training Director for:
Open Water TS (Toddy-Style) – Sidemount Instructor (all Levels)
T-REB eCCR Sidemount (all Levels)

Open Water Instructor
Nitrox Instructor
Advanced Nitrox Instructor
Cavern Instructor
Intro to Cave Instructor
Technical Cave Instructor
SF2 eCCR Sidemount & Backmount (all Levels)

IANTD Instructor for:

Open Water to Divemaster
Nitrox Diver
Deep Diver
Advanced Deep Air
Recreational Trimix Diver
Advanced Nitrox
Technical Diver
Normoxic Trimix
Trimix (Hypoxic)
Wreck
Advanced Wreck
Technical Wreck
Cavern
Intro to Cave
Full Cave
Technical Full Cave
Advanced Cave (Sidemount, Multiple Stage, DPV, Survey)
Trimix Gas Blender
CCR Buddy Inspiration Classic & Vision
CCR Buddy Inspiration Evolution
CCR Megalodon
CCR KISS
CCR SF2
CCR T-Reb
CCR Cave

NACD Instructor for:

Cavern
Intro to Cave Diver
Apprentice Cave
Full Cave
Sidemount
DPV
Survey & Cartography
Stage

PADI Instructor for:

Open Water to Divemaster
Deep Diver
Nitrox Diver
Boat Diver
U/W Photo
Search and Recovery
Scooter Diver
Cavern Diver
Night Diver
Wreck Diver
U/W Navigator
Equipment Specialist
DAN Oxygen Provider
Altitude Diver
Dry Suit Diver
Peak Perf. Buoyancy Diver
Medic First Aid
Master Scuba Diver

Also Certified As:

CMAS 3Star Diver
Support and Safety Diver IANTD
CCR Hammerhead Diver
CCR Trimix Diver
JJ-CCR Diver (IART)

Expeditions and Projecse:

2001 Quintana Roo documentaries for VOX and RTL covering the Mastadon Findings
2002 Quintana Roo Expeditions Film for Pro 7 and other Television Channels
2003 Yucatan Jungle Expedition (Deep Sinkholes of Merida)
2005 Exploration Cave System Bue Marino (Sardinia)
2005 Exploration Cave System Cala Luna (Sardinia)
2005 Exploration Cave System Bel Torente Start (Sardinia)
2005 Exploration Cave System Del Fico Start (Sardinia)
2006 Yucatan Jungle Expedition “Ring-Cenotes” (Prehistoric founds)
2007 Dschungel Camp Exploration “Tux Kubasha” (09.01 to 16.01)
2007 Advanced Diver Magazin Exploration Sardinia 2007
2007 Joroni Filming Project (Puplic CD-Tauchplätze Sardiniens)
2008 Exploration Cave System “Locoli” Siniscola (Sardinia Inland Cave)
2008 Exploration Cave System “Monsumazzo” Oliena (Sardinia Inland Cave)
2008 Exploration Cave Sytem “Bel Torrente” with Rick Stanton
2008 – 2015 Exploration Mainly done in Sardinia
2013 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2014 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2014 Exploration South Australia “World largest karst terrain “Nullarbor”
2015 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2016 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2016 GoPro Film Project „Searching the Maya Underworld – Quest for the earth´s biggest cave“
https://toddy-style.com/gopro-searching-the-maya-underworld/
2017 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexiko (Quintana Roo)
2018 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexiko (Quintana Roo)
https://toddy-style.com/vanilla-sky-project-cave-exploration/
2019 Exploration Camp “Vanilla Sky Project” in Mexiko (Quintana Roo)

Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part I https://vimeo.com/227343822 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part II https://vimeo.com/227348152 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part III https://vimeo.com/227349804 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part IV https://vimeo.com/227350046 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 – Yab Yum https://vimeo.com/209362799
Vanilla Sky Project 2018 | Part I https://vimeo.com/276531527
Vanilla Sky Project 2018 | Part II https://vimeo.com/276725670
Vanilla Sky Project 2019 | Part I https://vimeo.com/342373227
Vanilla Sky Project 2019 | Part II https://vimeo.com/342497960
Vanilla Sky Project 2019 – Mystic  https://vimeo.com/342602958?ref=em-share

logo

TODDY STYLE – HEADQUARTER
Sidemount-Explorer UG
Glasbergweg 7a
79822 Titisse-Neustadt (DE)
Cell: 0049 – (0)178-9313591
www.toddy-style.com

Equipment: oliver@toddy-style.com
Training: toddy@toddy-style.com

Follow us

Thorsten „Toddy“ Wälde

 

Thorsten „Toddy“ Wälde, Instructor und Instructortrainer im technischen Tauchen, ist der Erfinder und „Mastermind“ des Toddy-Style Sidemount Systems. Bereits im Alter von 22 Jahren entschied er sich für eine professionelle Laufbahn im Tauchsport. Nach mehreren Jahren als Tauchlehrer und Betreiber von Tauchsportzentren in Offenbach und Freiburg im Breisgau führte ihn sein Weg in die Richtung des technischen Trimix-Tauchens, und später im Jahr 2001 weiter nach Mexico. Hier lebte und arbeitete er mehrere Jahre auf der Halbinsel Yucatan und widmete seine Zeit dem Höhlentauchen, arbeitete als Tauchguide und Ausbilder und nahm an Expeditionen, Film- und Forschungsprojekten in den riesigen und komplexen Höhlensystemen der mexikanischen Halbinsel teil.

Ab 2004 führte ihn der Weg dann wieder öfter zurück nach Europa, mit dem Ziel, auch auf diesem Kontinent eine Tauchbasis und Ausbildungszentrum speziell für das Höhlentauchen aufzubauen und die hohen Standards des Höhlentauchens aus Mexico und den USA auf unserem Kontinent zu vermitteln. Auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Ort für dieses Vorhaben wurde er in Sardinien fündig, wo es eine große Zahl von Höhlensystemen Unter- wie Überwasser zu erforschen gab (und immer noch gibt ) und zudem eine gute Infrastruktur vorliegt, die ein schnelles Erreichen der verschiedenen Orte und Tauchplätze möglich macht. Ab dem Jahr 2005 gibt es dort seine Tauchbasis „Protec Sardinia“ in Cala Gonone am Golfo di Orosei, wo alles an Tauchausbildung gelehrt und gelebt wird, was man sich nur vorstellen  kann. Angefangen vom geführten Tauchgang bis hin zur Ausbildung als z.B. CCR-Instructortrainer ist hier alles möglich. Neben dem Tauch- und Ausbildungsbetrieb gibt es ein Angebot an Speleo-Touren in die trockenen Höhlensysteme der Insel, zudem werden regelmäßige Forschungscamps und Explorationsprojekte, z.T. in Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen Speleologiegruppen, durchgeführt, um die sardische Unterwelt noch weiter zu erforschen.

Toddy ist selbst aktiv in der Forschung tätig und unterstützt regionale sardische Speleogruppen bei der Erforschung der komplexen Systeme. Darüber hinaus gibt es mehrere, von Toddy initiierte und seit vielen Jahren andauernde Projekte, die verschiedene Systeme weiter untersuchen, vermessen und kartieren, sowie erforschte Bereiche sichern und immer noch  erweitern. Aktuell in Sardinien sind die Projekte zur „Utopia“ sowie „Bel Torrente“ .  Aber diese Forschungsarbeit findet nicht nur in Sardinien statt. In Zusammenarbeit mit Toddys langjährigem Freund und Explorer-Kollegen Robbie Schmittner, der seit vielen Jahren in Mexico lebt und dort ebenfalls ein Dive-Center ( Xibalba Dive-Centre ) betreibt, gibt es das „Vanilla Sky“ Projekt. In diesem Projekt wird in alljährlichen Expeditionscamps im Dschungel Mexicos in den dortigen Höhlensystemen geforscht.

 

Toddy und der Toddy-Style

 

Seit seiner Zeit in Mexico begann Toddy sich intensiv mit der Sidemount-Konfiguration zu beschäftigen. Da es damals zu Beginn der 2000er Jahre kaum ein Angebot von fertigen Sidemount-Systemen gab, war es in der Szene üblich, sich seine eigene Ausrüstung, je nach Angebot und Einsatzzweck, zusammenzubasteln. Das größte Potential sah Toddy bereits zu dieser Zeit im sogenannten „Sandwich-System“, welches aus 2 Backplates (Innen und Aussen) bestand, die das in der Mitte liegende Wing umschlossen. Durch die Backplates ist diese Konstruktion äußerst stabil und läßt sich sehr flexibel einsetzen, allerdings ließen die damaligen Lösungen durch die oft mangelhafte Kompatibilität der Komponenten noch viele Wünsche offen. Toddy arbeitete seit dieser Zeit kontinuierlich an der Verbesserung dieser Konfiguration, zudem seine Umsiedelung nach Sardinien und die damit verbundenen kälteren Wassertemperaturen die Verwendung von Trockentauchanzügen notwendig machte. Der Einsatz eines Trockis ist eine weiterer Baustein des Sidemount Set-Ups, der gut durchdacht sein will, um eine saubere und übersichtliche Schlauchführung zu erreichen. Zusätzlich wird es erforderlich, eine größere Menge an Tariergewicht mitzuführen. Im Laufe von mehreren Jahren optimierte Toddy daher an „seinem“ Sidemount-System, so daß schließlich ca. im Jahre 2010 eine ganzheitliche Lösung im Raum stand, die sich im praktischen Einsatz bei der Forschung wie auch im Unterrichten von Cave-Diving Kursen bewährte. Dieses Konzept begann sich daraufhin unter dem Namen „Toddy-Style“ zu verbreiten. Die Fachzeitschrift für technisches Tauchen „Wetnotes“ widmete dem Toddy-Style im Jahr 2011 einen ausführlichen Artikel. Aber obwohl sich diese Philosophie in der Welt des Sidemount-Tauchens langsam verbreitete, war die eigentliche Ausrüstung, die dabei verwendet wurde, eine Zusammenstellung aus den Produktsortimenten verschiedener Herstellen, die – zum Teil zweckentfremdet – zu einer neuen Einheit kombiniert werden mussten. Hier war handwerkliches Geschick und gründliche Recherche für das Auffinden der am besten geeigneten Komponenten erforderlich.

Ab dem Jahr 2011 begann die Zusammenarbeit von Toddy mit Oliver Steinle, der (zu Hause Handwerker im Metallbau mit eigener Werkstatt) für eine Höhlentauchausbildung nach Sardinien kam und hier den Toddy-Style kennen und schätzen lernte. Von nun an entwickelten die beiden gemeinsam zunächst einzelne Komponenten, um einen kompletten „Toddy-Style-Baukasten“  zur Verfügung zu haben. Diese Komponenten-Sammlung wurde dann ab 2012 im Onlineshop „sidemount-explorer.com “ angeboten. Aber das volle Potential der Konfiguration ließ sich auch durch angepasste Komponenten nicht erreichen. Immer noch limitierte Form und Volumen des Wings und die Gurtbandführung des Harness den maximal möglichen Effekt. So entstand der Gedanke, ein komplettes System aus einem Guss in kompletter Eigenregie zu entwickeln. Gesagt – Getan … „Toddy-Style“ wurde als Marke registriert und geschützt, es wurde getüftelt und genäht, geklebt und geschweißt, bis schließlich nach vielen Prototypen das aktuelle TS-System entstand. Nach umfänglicher Prüfung der Prototypen wurde die CE Zertifikation erworben, das System erstmals auf der boot 2017 präsentiert und zum Verkauf angeboten.

 

Toddy und das TS Ausbildungsprogramm

 

Parallel mit der Entwicklung des Sidemount-Systems fand die Integration des Systems in die Tauchausbildung statt, da diese ein tagtäglicher Bestandteil der Arbeit von Protec Sardinia ist. Toddy war eine perfekte Integration in die Ausbildungsabläufe des technischen Tauchens und speziell des Höhlentauchens besonders wichtig.  Ebenso sollte eine größtmögliche Kompatibilität des Sidemount-Systems mit allen möglichen Formen des technischen Tauchens erreicht werden. Besonders wichtig sind in diesem Zusammenhang Schlauchführung und Flaschen-Setup, aber auch grundsätzliche Themen wie Gasplanung und Bewegungsabläufe bei verschiedenen Manövern unter Wasser spielen eine wichtige Rolle. Um diesem ganzheitlichen Ansatz gerecht zu werden und die Philosophie von Anfang an in „Reinkultur“ vermitteln zu können, entstand der Gedanke, ein eigenes und spezielle TS- Ausbildungsprogramm zu entwickeln. Durch die jahrelange und erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tauchverband IANTD stand sofort der richtige Partner zu Seite, um diese Idee zu  verwirklichen. So gibt es seit 2018 ein Trainingsprogramm bei diesem Verband , welches sich speziell der TS-Sidemount Konfiguration widmet.

Sidemount Training das er unterrichtet:

User level:
TS-OPEN WATER Sidemount Diver
TS-TEK Sidemount Diver

Instructor level:
TS-OPEN WATER Sidemount Diver Instructor
TS-TEK Sidemount Diver Instructor

Direkter Kontakt für Kurse und Infos:

toddy@toddy-style.com

Sprache:

Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch

IANTD Instruktor Trainer für:

„NEU“ Training Direktor für:
Open Water TS (Toddy-Style) – Sidemount Instruktor (alle Levels)
T-REB eCCR Sidemount (alle Levels)

Open Water Instruktor
Nitrox Instruktor
Advanced Nitrox Instruktor
Cavern Instruktor
Intro to Cave Instruktor
Technical Cave Instruktor
SF2 eCCR Sidemount & Backmount (alle Levels)

IANTD Instruktor für:

Open Water to Divemaster
Nitrox Diver
Deep Diver
Advanced Deep Air
Recreational Trimix Diver
Advanced Nitrox
Technical Diver
Normoxic Trimix
Trimix (Hypoxic)
Wreck
Advanced Wreck
Technical Wreck
Cavern
Intro to Cave
Full Cave
Technical Full Cave
Advanced Cave (Sidemount, Multiple Stage, DPV, Survey)
Trimix Gas Blender
CCR Buddy Inspiration Classic & Vision
CCR Buddy Inspiration Evolution
CCR Megalodon
CCR KISS
CCR SF2
CCR T-Reb
CCR Cave

NACD Instruktor für:

Cavern
Intro to Cave Diver
Apprentice Cave
Full Cave
Sidemount
DPV
Survey & Cartography
Stage

PADI Instruktor für:

Open Water zu Divemaster
Deep Diver
Nitrox Diver
Boat Diver
U/W Photo
Search and Recovery
Scooter Diver
Cavern Diver
Night Diver
Wreck Diver
U/W Navigator
Equipment Specialist
DAN Oxygen Provider
Altitude Diver
Dry Suit Diver
Peak Perf. Buoyancy Diver
Medic First Aid
Master Scuba Diver

Ausserdem Zertifiziert als:

CMAS 3Star Diver
Support and Safety Diver IANTD
CCR Hammerhead Diver
CCR Trimix Diver
JJ-CCR Diver (IART)

Expeditionen und Projekte:

2001 Quintana Roo documentaries for VOX and RTL covering the Mastadon Findings
2002 Quintana Roo Expeditions Film for Pro 7 and other Television Channels
2003 Yucatan Jungle Expedition (Deep Sinkholes of Merida)
2005 Exploration Cave System Bue Marino (Sardinia)
2005 Exploration Cave System Cala Luna (Sardinia)
2005 Exploration Cave System Bel Torente Start (Sardinia)
2005 Exploration Cave System Del Fico Start (Sardinia)
2006 Yucatan Jungle Expedition “Ring-Cenotes” (Prehistoric founds)
2007 Dschungel Camp Exploration „Tux Kubasha“ (09.01 to 16.01)
2007 Advanced Diver Magazin Exploration Sardinia 2007
2007 Joroni Filming Project (Puplic CD-Tauchplätze Sardiniens)
2008 Exploration Cave System „Locoli“ Siniscola (Sardinia Inland Cave)
2008 Exploration Cave System „Monsumazzo“ Oliena (Sardinia Inland Cave)
2008 Exploration Cave Sytem “Bel Torrente” with Rick Stanton
2008 – 2015 Exploration Mainly done in Sardinia
2013 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2014 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2014 Exploration South Australia „World largest karst terrain „Nullarbor“
2015 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2016 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexico (Quintana Roo)
2016 GoPro Film Project „Searching the Maya Underworld – Quest for the earth´s biggest cave“
https://toddy-style.com/gopro-searching-the-maya-underworld/
2017 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexiko (Quintana Roo)
2018 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexiko (Quintana Roo)
https://toddy-style.com/vanilla-sky-project-cave-exploration/
2019 Exploration Camp „Vanilla Sky Project“ in Mexiko (Quintana Roo)

Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part I https://vimeo.com/227343822 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part II https://vimeo.com/227348152 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part III https://vimeo.com/227349804 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 | Part IV https://vimeo.com/227350046 
Vanilla Sky Project 2017 – Yab Yum https://vimeo.com/209362799
Vanilla Sky Project 2018 | Part I https://vimeo.com/276531527
Vanilla Sky Project 2018 | Part II https://vimeo.com/276725670
Vanilla Sky Project 2019 | Part I https://vimeo.com/342373227
Vanilla Sky Project 2019 | Part II https://vimeo.com/342497960
Vanilla Sky Project 2019 – Mystic  https://vimeo.com/342602958?ref=em-share